Freedom of Expression National Monument About Artists Events Directions Press History Thanks Speak Up August 17 thru November 13

Creative Time would like to thank the Lower Manhattan Cultural Council for co-presenting Freedom of Expression National Monument, and the New York City Department of Parks & Recreation and the Office of the Mayor for their support to present the work in Foley Square.

Our deepest thanks are due to the artists Laurie Hawkinson, John Malpede, and Erika Rothenberg and who came together to recreate the work and the performance from the original presentation of Freedom of Expression National Monument. Tim De Christopher fabricated the sculpture in 1984 and did a fabulous job again this year with his team.

We are grateful to everyone who helped to advise, design, and helped to realize this project: Jason Carlow, Art Domantay, David Linehan, Pat Arnett, council Judith L. Church, Daniel M. Abuhoff and Michael Cardozo, Commissioner Amanda Burden, Nanette Smith - Chair of Department of City Planning, Patricia Harris - Deputy Mayor for Administration, New York City Department of Parks and Recreation Commissioner Adrian Benepe and Patricia Hamilton, and special help from board members: Phil Aarons, Steven Alden, and Beth Rudin DeWoody.

Project Producer: Vardit Gross
Invitation, Button and Marketing design: MODINO
Website: Michelle Higa
Photography: Charlie Samuels

Thanks to our Project Interns Camilla Gale, Ashley Nelson and Jason Miers, and to all the Creative Time interns: Sara Berg, Nicole Brostoff, Jane Chen, Ashley Colgate, Rachael Faillace, Katherine Ferrell, Leila Feur, Mary Fuller, Branwen Jones, Hannah Matthews, Shan Raoufi, Cadi Russell Sauve, Daniel Starling, Robin Stein, Kathryn Van Syckle, Tyler Wood, and thanks to our volunteer Marisa Mayer.

Freedom of Expression National Monument is made possible, in part, with public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs; the New York State Council on the Arts, a State agency; New York City Council Speaker Gifford Miller; New York City Councilmember Christine Quinn; New York State Senator Thomas K. Duane, and with private funds from The Gunk Foundation, Mr. Steven Horowitz, and Mr. Edwin Schlossberg.

Freedom of Expression National Monument is proud to participate in the Imagine Festival.

Creative Time is deeply grateful to our many supporters, whose commitment to our mission helps to enliven the streets of New York with inspiring public art.